NZIIA Board Changes


IMG 2362
Following the national AGM on 1 May, NZIIA is pleased to announce several Board changes

An election for four national Board places was conducted in the first part of 2024. Following this, at the national AGM on 1 May, NZIIA members endorsed the election of the following four nominees to the Board (in alphabetical order):

  • Dr Richard Grant (re-elected)
  • Esther Guy-Meakin (newly elected)
  • Dr Serena Kelly (re-elected)
  • Andrew Wierzbicki (re-elected)

These four will join the four incumbent Board members.

At its first meeting after the AGM, the Board re-appointed Dr Richard Grant as Chair, and Dr James Kember as Vice Chair. On 30 June, Dr Richard Grant will step down as Chair, and will be replaced in that role by Dr James Kember, with Dr Serena Kelly becoming Vice Chair.

Accordingly, the full NZIIA Board for 2024-26 comprises:

  • Dr Richard Grant (Chair until 30 June)
  • Dr James Kember (Vice Chair until 30 June and Chair from 1 July)
  • Karim Dickie
  • David Evans (Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade representative)
  • Suzannah Jessep
  • Esther Guy-Meakin
  • Dr Serena Kelly (Vice Chair from 1 July)
  • Andrew Wierzbicki

More information about NZIIA and our Board can be found here. 

Read a copy of the 2023 NZIIA Annual Report here. 


NZIIA membership is open to anyone interested in understanding the importance of global affairs to the political and economic well-being of New Zealand.