The NZIIA has eight branches spread throughout the country: Auckland, Christchurch, Hamilton, Hawke’s Bay, Nelson, Palmerston North, Wairarapa and Wellington. Each has a locally elected chair and is responsible for its own programme of lectures and seminars on international issues.  The branches are responsible also for individual memberships of the Institute (the National Office looks after Corporates and Institutions). Each branch fixes the annual subscription rate for its members (which must cover the cost of the NZ International Review).  A number include a special rate for students.